Back to School and Pokemon…

23 Aug

 

Summer is officially over! In my mind at least. I know a lot of you are probably already back in session. Some of my Indiana friends have already had Meet the Teacher Night! Our first student day is a week from today, but I went in today to set up some things and I’ll be in the rest of the week. I’d love to hear from some of you tips on Meet the Teacher Night. This seems to be such a nerve-wracking night for many.

IMG_2016-07-15-13591897

A weedle helping me with some worksheets.

Back to school has dual meaning for me this year. Not only will I be returning for a second year at my current school, but I’m also attending grad school at University of Connecticut! I’m so excited to be learning all kinds of new things and meeting fellow educators. My blog is going to change a little as I start to blog not only about what’s happening in my classroom, but also my grad classes.

It’s going to be a tough year balancing my 8th graders and a full course load each semester, but I’m looking forward to the challenge. My graduate degree is going to be in Educational Technology and we’ve been talking a lot about augmented reality and PokemonGo. Of course I’ve been playing, and I’m really anxious to see if my students are into it.  I can’t wait to meet my students, and I cannot wait to share some of the things I’m going to be doing.

Here’s to a great school year!

Leave a comment