Math Wreath

13 Aug

ImageSometimes I think I should teach art, and then I remember I really don’t like art, I like crafts. Like may not be strong enough a word. I LOVE CRAFTS! I try to work them into math class as much as possible. Here’s my latest craft project: A Welcome Wreath for my classroom door! It was a lot easier to make then I thought it would be, and I love the look of it. Great way to use those old wooden rulers hanging out in your classroom cabinet!

Materials you’ll need…

  • 18 wooden rulers
  • 6 inch hoop (I used an embroidery hoop)
  • Your choice of embelishments
  • Ribbon for hanging
  • Exacto Knife
  • Hot Glue Gun and Glue

First you need to cut the rulers in half. I did this by scoring the ruler on both sides around the 6 inch mark. Then I just broke the ruler in half.

Image

Then glue one round of rulers on the hoop. I started at the top (12 o’clock) then did the bottom (6 o’clock), then left and right (3 and 9 o’clock). Then I put a half-ruler in between each of these.

ImageThen I flipped the ring over and put a half-ruler in between each of the already glued rulers. They’re not going to fit perfectly. You’re basically making a second layer.

ImageThen I glued on my embellishments. I made a few flowers out of old textbooks, and then some chalkboards with my name. Then I used a sharpie to color some wood letters black and glued those on. I used a ribbon to hang it. Hopefully my students will like it as much as I do!

Image

 

Leave a Reply

